Me llamo Dr. Mollie!

I normally have avocados galore at my house. (I re-discovered the word “galore” about two years ago and decided that is a VERY underutilized word. Naturally, I’ve been trying to use it more often since. You should try it too—trust me, you’re gonna have a good time.) Anyways, we normally go through about 5 avocados every week. (Healthy fats, people!)

Because of our avocado obsession, I have a super awesome, easy guacamole recipe that I make all the time! This is what goes into it:

2 ripe avocados

2 garlic cloves, very finely minced

1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro (I can get this from my garden, you’ll probably have to run to the store for this.)

Juice of half a lemon or lime

1 teaspoon ground cumin

Sea salt, to taste

Freshly cracked black pepper (there is no other way–here is what we use), to taste

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1 roma tomato, diced

I’ll also show you the equipments I use for this recipe. This is my three-in-one avocado tool by OXO.

IMG_4641

You can buy it here. I am very excited about this tool—using it saves me about 30 seconds per avocado because of its three-in-one capabilities (as opposed to just a regular knife and spoon, which is clearly for peasants.) Thus, if we are using about 5 avocados per week, I’d say that it saves me roughly two and a half minutes per week.

So, using your three-in-one tool, slice the avocados in half, remove the pit, AND slice/scoop the avocado right into your molcajete.

Wait, you don’t know what a molcajete is? My goodness, you people have so much to learn.

IMG_4642

This is a molcajete lava stone, and having one makes me seem very cool and authentic.

This is a fact because we have a friend who lives in Mexico. She was SOOO impressed that I had a molcajete. When she visited our home this winter, she said, “Is it normal for Americans to have these?” and I said “No, soy una seniorita especiale.” (In Spanish, that means “No, I only have one because I am a beautiful, special young lady who has a very successful lifestyle blog.”) Ours is from World Market. If you want the same one as me (which you probably do,) snag one here! I know what you’re thinking–“do I really need one of these?!” The answer is yes, because lavaaaaaaaaa stone. 

Next, add the garlic, cilantro, lemon juice, cumin, salt & pepper,  and grind it all up using the pestle included with the molcajete (Fine. If you don’t want to get a molcajete, you can just mash up your avocado with a fork, or a potato masher. If you’re gonna be like that, you might as well just buy guac pre-made from your grocery store and put it in one of your boring bowls to make it look homemade. #imposter.)

Next, add your diced tomato and onion, and give the mixture a good spoonin’.

IMG_4643

TA-DA!

This guacamole is great for any occasion! (Today is taco Tuesday–on Tuesdays, we eat tacos–what an incredibly appropriate post on my part.) We also make it often at home with weeknight dinners (we put it on salads, top our burgers with it, the possibilities are endless.) It also makes a great appetizer when you are entertaining because people love it. I seriously get so many compliments (–on the guacamole! But yes, you’re right, I also get compliments galore on many other things.) Classically, serve it with tortilla chips. We LOVE these. To lighten it up or to make it paleo/whole30 compliant, serve with veggies like carrot sticks, celery sticks and slices of bell pepper.

Let’s get one thing straight. You didn’t come here for my guacamole recipe (you could google one.) You came here because you think I’m totally cool and funny!!!!!

HypeGirlSignature

One thought on “Me llamo Dr. Mollie!

Leave a Reply

