Teal Vs. Adam Harding, the Fight of the Century!

Yesterday, Kelly Potts & I went to the Junk in the Trunk Vintage Market here in Scottsdale. (Catch up here.)

My major score was a vintage TEAL bar cart!

Adam and I had been looking for a cool and inexpensive bar cart for quite some time. We’d go to bed at night and say, “golly gee our lives are just perfect, but we really need a bar cart. And another chihuahua.

IMG_5682

When I laid eyes on it, at the Eyes of An Owl booth, I purchased it immediately. I also purchased that gold mirrored tray on top of it. I knew it was just the bar cart for us, because it is teal. Now remember–I have quite a few teal/easter egg colored items in my house (like my prized china cabinet.) At one point last year, Adam said he “would just DIE” if we got one more teal thing in our house. Oh welp.

girl

I couldn’t wait to get my bar cart home and start re-doing our current little bar corner.

cher

This is the before pic. We pretty much just stashed our wine and liquor on an old little shelf in our kitchen and I wasn’t really proud of the display. Thus, our little bar shelf also became a storage place for random stuff like pieces of mail and money glasses (which are a necessary accessory when you are a hype girl. DUH.)

FullSizeRender (89)

This is the before pic. No big whoop. (Other things that were “no big whoop” this weekend: The Mayweather/Pacquiao fight.)

So. I emptied out the shelf and found other places for our random collection of things.

FullSizeRender (91)

I arranged our bottles on top. FIREBALLLLLLLLLLLLLLL (because we have no other use for antifreeze in Arizona, we like to drink ours. See?!) Also, sunflowers. Because, sunflowers. In the mirrored tray, I put some cute low ball glasses, a candle, cocktail shaker, and a pile of Anne Taintor cocktail napkins pictured below (buy them here).

anne

Months ago, I had scavenged my area Goodwills for fancy silver trays and I painted their middles with chalkboard paint. I was going to use these cutesy trays for wedding decorations, which eventually fell through, so I was delighted to find a new purpose for these trays on the bottom shelf of the bar cart!

Also on the bottom shelf: a corkscrew, two stemless wine glasses, a wine aerator (buy one here), and two bottles of my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE WHITE: the one and only Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc from the Marlborough region of New Zealand. If you’re not already on it, jump on the Kim C train, and fast.

So here it is, our new and improved bar corner:

FullSizeRender (90)

Much better! Oh. And in case you were wondering, Adam loves it. And he survived with one more teal piece in the house. The only thing he died of this weekend was of boredom during the Mayweather/Pacquiao fight.

Also. Adam feels really cool now that he has a bar cart. He’s walking around the house calling himself Don Draper.

HypeGirlSignature

One thought on “Teal Vs. Adam Harding, the Fight of the Century!

  1. Mamma says:

    Every experience in your life is a stepping stone to personal growth. You have had a great journey to know what makes you happy and who you are. I love you and so very proud of you.

    I like to read your blog at the end of the day to reflect on your story.xxxooo
    And to have a few laughs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

