May the Fourth Be With You

May 4th Is a very sentimental day for me.

I know this because Facebook reminded me. See!?

IMG_5693

On May 4th, 2012, I left Arizona for Saint Louis to finish up the last year of my doctorate degree.

IMG_5695 (1).

I lived there for one year and that year was very important to me and my growth as a young lady.

I knew next to no one there and Adam and I were of course long distance. Thus, I ended up spending a lot of time alone. Because of this, I found my independence and I learned how to truly be happy and content by myself.

I found fitness and worked with a trainer who helped me build a solid foundation of knowledge that I’ll have for the rest of my life.I competed in my first fitness competition in March of 2013.

IMG_0443

(Boom! That’s a post-competition pump right there!)

I worked with many individuals whose kindness and compassion I will never forget.

IMG_0665

(Not everyone is pictured here, but this is the only photo I have!)

And finally, I met so many amazing kids who left such a mark on my heart. Watch a story about one of them here.

………………….

Exactly one year later, May 4th, 2013, was the first day of the rest of my life.

I returned to Arizona for my graduation (which was the best week of my life, so far!)

And later, I moved to Southern California for my first job. Hooray! Adam and I were at least in the same region of the world!

Adam picked me up from the airport when I arrived back in AZ. Here I am the first moment after leaving the airport. I can’t even describe how much I love this photo! I don’t even think there are enough words in the world to caption it.

IMG_0689

I was so extremely happy to close that chapter of my life but so, so grateful for the experience.

Ok. Now I’m crying. I’m so sentimental these days with the wedding coming up!

Can you believe I made it a whole year in a city without a Sprinkles Cupcakes!?

HypeGirlSignature

One thought on “May the Fourth Be With You

  1. Marylinn Harding says:

    Wonderful recap of the last few years! Very emotional! I’m so happy that it has all culminated in your becoming my daughter-in-law!

    Like

Leave a Reply

